## September 22, 2021

## ATTORNEY GENERAL RAOUL URGES CONGRESS TO IMPROVE LEGISLATION TO MODERNIZE ANTITRUST ENFORCEMENT AND PROTECT CONSUMERS

**Chicago** — Attorney General Kwame Raoul, as part of a coalition of 30 attorneys general, is supporting legislative proposals to modernize federal antitrust laws. In a letter sent to Congressional leaders, Raoul and the coalition urged Congress to continue making improvements to the antitrust laws via a range of bills, including the continued consideration of Ending Platform Monopolies Act, the American Choice and Innovation Online Act, the Platform Competition and Opportunity Act, the Augmenting Compatibility and Competition by Enabling Service Switching ("ACCESS") Act, the Merger Filing Fee Modernization Act, and the State Antitrust Enforcement Venue Act.

In the letter, Raoul and the coalition also recommend adding provisions that would further protect consumers from unlawful and irresponsible mergers and business practices, and to facilitate competition and innovation.

"I applaud Congress for taking steps to pass important pieces of legislation to modernize federal antitrust laws," Raoul said. "I urge them to include additional protections that will further protect consumers and allow my office to continue to effectively enforce these protections."

Raoul and the coalition note that updated legislation is required to respond to changes in technology, decreased competition in important sectors, and undue judicial skepticism toward robust antitrust enforcement. However, the attorneys general also commend the antitrust bills as steps in the right direction.

Along with these updates to federal law, Raoul and the coalition also urge Congress to include provisions in the proposed legislation that confirm states stand on equal footing with federal enforcers under federal antitrust law, including with regard to the timing of challenging anticompetitive mergers and other practices.

Joining Raoul in the letter are the attorneys general of California, Connecticut, Colorado, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, and Wisconsin.